Hannes de Maeyer


1 in stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QR389 Categories: ,

Ref: QR389

Availabilty: IN STOCK

Categories: CD

Limited edition: 300 units.

Quartet Records and MovieScore Media presents the CD release of the Belgian World War II adventure TORPEDO (known as U-235 internationally) with music by composer Hannes De Maeyer. Directed by Sven Huybrechts, the first Flemish submarine film ever is set during World War II and tells the story of a gang of Flemish rebels with a secret mission: they have to sail from Congo to the United States with a hijacked German U-boat carrying a cargo with which the Allies might win the war…

The inspiration for Hannes De Maeyer were such WW2-related films and games as MEDAL OF HONOR by Michael Giacchino & Christopher Lennertz, SAVING PRIVATE RYAN by John Williams or BAND OF BROTHERS by Michael Kamen. As he explains “There was no doubt that we needed this score to be one recorded with large symphonic orchestra full of prominent brass instruments and percussion (snares, timpani, cymbals). That was just what this film needed. The references to and the atmosphere of nostalgic films such as THE GREAT ESCAPE and INDIANA JONES lie in all aspects of the film, including the score.”

The CD booklet featuring exclusive liner notes by Gergely Hubai based on an original interview with the composer.


  1. Town Square (3:13)
  2. U-Boat Training (2:49)
  3. War Room (2:45)
  4. Football in the Woods (2:22)
  5. Squirrel (0:43)
  6. Mission Briefing (1:56)
  7. Saying Goodbye (1:26)
  8. Arriving in Congo (1:22)
  9. We Have to Depart (4:12)
  10. Uranium (1:45)
  11. First Dive (3:41)
  12. Baby Louis (3:00)
  13. Plane Attack (2:13)
  14. Wedding (4:09)
  15. Torpedo! (3:34)
  16. Start the Engines! (1:09)
  17. Shooting the Torpedo (3:06)
  18. We Have to Amputate (2:42)
  19. Germans On Board (2:25)
  20. It Had To Be Done (1:27)
  21. Alarm, das sind keine Deutschen! (2:46)
  22. Impossible Shot (2:02)
  23. Nadine (1:41)
  24. Rescue Action (2:01)
  25. Sacrifice (2:23)
  26. Promise (2:08)
  27. U-235 (4:04)