Thief of Hearts (2-CD)

Harold Faltermeyer


37 in stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QR501 Categories: ,

Ref: QR501

Availabilty: IN STOCK

Categories: CD

Limited edition: 1500 units


Quartet Records, Geffen Records and Paramount Pictures present the premiere release of the complete score by Harold Faltermeyer (BEVERLY HILLS COP, TOP GUN, FLETCH, TANGO AND CASH) for Douglas Day Stewart’s 1984 sexual, romantic drama-thriller THIEF OF HEARTS, starring Steven Bauer, Barbara Williams and John Getz. The film is about a woman trapped in a boring marriage who begins an affair with a handsome man who seems able to read her mind. She doesn’t know that he has broken into her house and read her diaries, in which she has recorded her deepest thoughts and fantasies.

Harold Faltermeyer provided an intense, romantic and suspenseful electronic score, varied and rhythmic. The composer also wrote and produced several pop songs for the film, and arranged the original song “Thief of Hearts,” composed by Giorgio Moroder and performed by Melissa Manchester, which was a huge hit in its single version.

The popular THIEF OF HEARTS soundtrack album was released by MCA on LP and CD and reissued several times over the years, although in its 40-minute length it included only the five songs and five score cues specifically arranged for the album. This limited 2-CD edition from Quartet Records includes, for the first time, the complete score composed and recorded by Faltermeyer for the film, and also the remastered MCA album, unused cues, demos, and alternate versions of both score and songs. A treat for all fans of 80s synth sound!

Meticulously produced by Dan Goldwasser and mastered by Doug Schwartz, the 20-page full color package includes in-depth liner notes by film music writer Daniel Schweiger.



1. Stolen Secrets (film version)* (5:22)

2. Robbery Discovered / You’re a Bad Girl* (1:42)

3. Second Journal – Food (1:21)

4. Watching You (1:14)

5. The Bath (2:07)

6. First Meeting – Eyes (unused) (1:04)

7. First Meeting – Fingers / I’ll Get That (0:49)

8. Second Robbery (1:06)

9. Marina / Oil (2:10)

10. Gun (0:49)

11. Seductions (3:05)

12. Third Robbery / What Am I Doing Here? (4:01)

13. Second Sailing (1:09)

14. Ray Chases Scott (2:03)

15. Rooftops / Motorcycle (4:19)

16. Office Fight* (2:49)

17. He’s Gone / Final Confrontation (6:35)

Bonus Tracks

18. The Bath (early version) (2:17)

19. What Am I Doing Here? (extended early version) (3:33)

20. Ray Chases Scott (early version) (2:06)

21. Romantic Theme I (demo) (3:06)

22. Romantic Theme II (early demo) (3:04)

23. Chase (demo) (2:49)

24. Romantic Theme II (demo) (3:08)

*contains material not used in film



1. Thief of Hearts (3:41) Performed by Melissa Manchester

2. Love in the Shadows (4:20) Performed by E.G. Daily

3. Stolen Secrets (4:57) Performed by Harold Faltermeyer

4. Tear Me Up (3:40) Performed by Darwun Hastings

5. Love Theme From “Thief of Hearts” (instrumental) (3:14) Performed by Harold Faltermeyer

6. Just Imagine (Way Beyond Fear) (4:08) Performed by Beth Anderson and Joe “Bean” Esposito

7. Passion Play (4:17) Performed by Annabella Lwin

8. Thief of Hearts (instrumental) (3:03) Performed by Harold Faltermeyer

9.Collage (instrumental) (3:54) Performed by Harold Faltermeyer

10. Final Confrontation (instrumental) (2:54) Performed by Harold Faltermeyer

Bonus Tracks

11. Love in the Shadows (Single Version) (3:57) Performed by E.G. Daily

12. Thief of Hearts (Dance Mix) (6:14) Performed by Melissa Manchester

13. Love in the Shadows (Special Remix) (8:40) Performed by E.G. Daily

14. Just Imagine (Way Beyond Fear) (instrumental) (4:35)

15. Love in the Shadows (instrumental) (4:32)