Red Sonja (LP)

Ennio Morricone


Out of stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QRLP41 Categories: ,

Ref: QRLP41

Availabilty: SOLD OUT

Categories: Vinyl

Limited edition: 500 units


Quartet Records, in collaboration with Studio Canal, presens a remastered vinyl edition of Ennio Morricone’s classic sword-and-sorcery score for the Arnold Schwarzenegger vehicle RED SONJA (1985), directed by Richard Fleischer and also starring Brigitte Nielsen as Sonja.

Initially conceived as a kind of continuation of the Conan saga started three years earlier by the same producer, Dino de Laurentiis, the original idea was to tie in Sonja’s character with the rest of the Conan universe and create a trilogy featuring the hulky Cimmerian. But the picture eventually became just a loose appendage to the franchise, although it kept the same director as CONAN THE DESTROYER and Schwarzenegger as the main star.

Ennio Morricone, who took over after Basil Poledouris scored the first films, provides a powerful and exciting score dominated by an epic march as the main theme, far away from the Poledouris style. The score also features a beautiful love theme, fierce action cues, adventure music and dark and mystical passages.

RED SONJA was originally released by Varèse Sarabande on an LP in 1985 featuring two extremely long tracks labeled “Symphonic Suite for Chorus and Orchestra – Part I & II,” although the music was organized like a regular album—just without separate track titles. In 2010, This new remastered LP edition contains the original album program in stereo reorganized in film order, and has been produced, restored and mastered by Chris Malone and pressed in 180 GM audiophile transparent red vinyl.

The package includes a new artwork created for the 4K restoration designed by the great artist Renato Casaro.



  1. Prologue (1:28)
  2. Main Title (2:22)
  3. The Talisman (1:11)
  4. Temple Raid (1:58)
  5. Touch It (1:12)
  6. Sonja and the Sword Master (1:53)
  7. Varna’s Death (2:02)
  8. The Gate of Brytag (1:49)
  9. Sonja vs. Brytag (1:15)
  10. Fighting the Soldiers (3:37)


  1. The Talisman II (1:10)
  2. The Chamber of Lights (2:02)
  3. Sonja Teaches Tarn (1:32)
  4. Treasure in the Cavern (2:08)
  5. Sonja and Kalidor (1:46)
  6. A Fair Fight (1:52)
  7. Entering the Castle (2:11)
  8. Sonja Defeats the Queen (1:31)
  9. End Credits (3:44)
  10. Sorcery (0:51)