Marco Beltrami


Out of stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QR318 Categories: ,

Ref: QR318

Availabilty: SOLD OUT

Categories: CD


Quartet Records and MovieScore Media presents the soundtrack album of Marco Beltrami’s music for the controversial Russian historical film Mathilde, directed by Aleksey Uchitel.

The movie tells the story of the supposed romantic relationship between the heir to the Russian throne, Nicholas Romanov, and the ballerina of the Imperial Theater, Matilda Kshesinskaya. The story opens with the first meeting between the 22-year-old crown prince and 18-year-old ballerina in 1890, then follows the tormented affair up until the coronation of Nicholas and his wife Aleksandra in 1896.

Beltrami uses handful of themes to underscore the forbidden affair, anchored by Mathilde’s theme for the young dancer who finds herself in royal intrigue. The other major thematic elements include a lively chase theme written around a violin solo (‘Twilight of the Empire’) and a sinister theme for the proto-Rasputin mystic Dr. Fishel (‘Fishel’s Holograph’) and some chase sequences (“Tent Attack”, “Bear Attack”). The music was performed by the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Valery Gergiev. The package includes liner notes by Gergely Hubai discuss the film and the score.


  1. Twilight of the Empire (3:55)
  2. Mathilde and the Balloon Ride (2:55)
  3. Church Chase and Train Crash (3:16)
  4. Exposed (3:16)
  5. Obstacle Course (2:15)
  6. Séance (2:21)
  7. Fishel’s Holograph (1:46)
  8. Tent Attack (2:09)
  9. To Moscow (1:50)
  10. Train Kiss (1:59)
  11. Bear Attack (2:30)
  12. Dance Fight (3:05)
  13. Dress Reversal (1:40)
  14. Gassing the Raft (5:02)
  15. Ten Neckless (2:20)
  16. Running Away (2:03)
  17. The Fall (1:45)
  18. Coronation (2:10)
  19. Happiness (2:34)
  20. Dark Coronation (2:52)
  21. Dream Kiss (3:52)
  22. End Credits (2:13)
  23. Mathilde’s Theme (2:24)