La Buca

Pino Donaggio


Out of stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QR167 Categories: ,

Ref: QR167

Availabilty: SOLD OUT

Categories: CD


The new score composed by Pino Donaggio (Dressed to Kill, Blow Out, Passion, Patrick) for the film of Daniele Ciprì, starring Sergio Castellito, Rocco Papaleo and Valeria Bruni Tedeschi.

The film is about two men who meet by chance in a bar. Armando (Papaleo) is a poor man recently released from prison after twenty-seven years of wrongful incarceration—or, at least, he says he is innocent. Oscar (Castellitto) is not so much a lawyer as a ruffian who sees a business opportunity and offers to arrange a retrial.

The favorite composer of Brian de Palma provides a surprising and charming score—a personal homage from Donaggio to a composer he much admires, George Gershwin. It is a romantic, melodic score with light-hearted passages, beautifully orchestrated, and far from the suspense sound for which the composer is better known.

The music has been recorded with the Bulgarian Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Gianluca Podio, with the prestigious Steffano Bollani as piano soloist.


  1. It All Begins (3:35)
  2. La Buca (2:34)
  3. Attempted Fraud (2:02)
  4. The Bus (0:53)
  5. Arianna (1:29)
  6. The Invalid (0:57)
  7. Suburbs (0:50)
  8. Night Thoughts (2:25)
  9. Charming Look (2:19)
  10. Nancho (1:40)
  11. In the Can (1:03)
  12. Retirement Home (1:36)
  13. Tribunal (2:08)
  14. Breakfast is Served (0:55)
  15. Hot Club (3:13)
  16. Same Old Bar (1:52)
  17. Trip to Switzerland (1:33)
  18. Hearing in Court (2:48)
  19. Closing Statement (2:38)
  20. Hole Prelude (1:47)
  21. The Ambulance (1:56)