Harlem Nights

Herbie Hancock


Out of stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QR365 Categories: ,

Ref: QR365

Availabilty: SOLD OUT

Categories: CD

Limited edition: 1000 units.


Quartet Records and Paramount Pictures present the world premiere release of the long-awaited original score by famous composer, musician, producer and jazz-giant Herbie Hancock (Blow Up, Action Jackson, Death Wish, Oscar winner for Best Original Score for Round Midnight) for Eddie Murphy’s ambitious Harlem Nights (1989). Set in New York during Prohibition, the story concerns the owner of an illegal gambling house who must deal with strong competition, gangsters and corrupt cops in order to stay in business. It starred Murphy, Richard Pryor, Danny Aiello, Michael Lerner, Belinda Tolbert and Jasmine Guy.

Herbie Hancock, naturally, provides a jazz-influenced score, with an infectious main theme and great pieces for big band. Hancock also contributed a darker mix of electronics and orchestra as underscore. A series of jazz standards by Duke Ellington were recorded specially for the film, with orchestra conducted by Garnett Brown, arranged and produced by Hancock with his well-known good taste. All these adaptations are included in the album as bonus tracks.

This CD has been beautifully edited and mastered by Doug Schwartz, and the package includes a 16-page full-color booklet with liner notes by Daniel Schweiger.


The Film Score

1. Main Title (2:27)

2. Young Quick With Cigs (1:23)

3. Snaggletooth Gambles (4:06)

4. Vera’s Entrance / Quick Fight Vera / Limo and Ambulance Leave (1:40)

5. 3M3 (0:36)

6. Cantone Leaves Ray’s (0:59)

7. Cutting Tommy’s Throat / Taking the Bait (1:04)

8. Quick Finds Dead Smalls / Quick Leaves Smalls’ Apartment (1:43)

9. Quick Leaves Calhoune’s (1:22)

10. Through the Glass Quickly (1:51)

11. Quick Kills Arsenio (0:27)

12. Dominique Seduces (2:07)

13. Quick to Bead, Quick to Rise (2:02)

14. Dominique Nix (0:43)

15. 9M1 (1:09)

16. Calhoune’s Threat / Ray Bails Out (1:03)

17. Quick to Apologize (1:28)

18. Exploding Pitty Pat’s (1:18)

19. Black Beauty (D. Ellington, arr. H. Hancock) (1:17)

20. Making a Deposit (1:17)

21. Put Down Your Gun / Safe at Last / Vera Warns Calhoune / Vera Goes Away (1:27)

22. Ray’s Not Home (1:47)

Bonus tracks

23. It Don’t Mean a Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing) (D. Ellington / I. Mills) (2:26)

24. Sophisticated Lady (D. Ellington / I. Mills / M. Parish) (4:10)

25. Take the “A” Train (B. Strayhorn) (3:12)

26. Mood Indingo (D. Ellington / I. Mills / A. Bigard) (7:32)

27. The Gal From Joe’s (D. Ellington / I. Mills) (2:56)

28. Mamãe, Eu Quero (J. Calazans / V. Paiva / A. Stillman / E. Torre Garcia) (2:35)