Canadian Bacon

Elmer Bernstein, Peter Bernstein


Out of stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: SCE066 Categories: , ,

Ref: SCE066

Availabilty: SOLD OUT

Categories: CD Composers

Limited edition: 1000 units.


Quartet Records is pleased to present the world premiere release of a powerful, hilarious score co-composed by Elmer and Peter Bernstein for the 1995 MGM comedy Canadian Bacon. An anti-militarist farce written and directed by Michael Moore (Bowling for Columbine, Farenheit 9/11), the film starred John Candy, Alan Alda, Rhea Perlman and Kevin Pollack.

Moore chose Elmer Bernstein because he wanted the same musical treatment for his film that Bernstein had given to some favorite ’80s comedies (Stripes, Ghostbusters, Trading Places, Meatballs): a serious score that would contrast with the comic intent of the film. Although by the mid-nineties Bernstein was tired of scoring comedies, he agreed to compose the score for Canadian Bacon –in collaboration with his son Peter– because he liked Moore’s ideas.

The Bernsteins provided a bombastic, militaristic score, full of leitmotivs, hymns and lots of action music. Canadian Bacon is one of Elmer Bernstein’s great achievements of the ’90s, sadly forgotten due to the failure of the film at the box office. It is music deserving of rediscovery.

The music, conducted by Elmer Bernstein, was recorded at Angel Studios in London. The package includes a 12-page full color booklet with liner notes by Randall D. Larson. A treat for all Bernstein fans!


  1. Presidential Motorcade (0:57)
  2. 2M7 (2:01)
  3. Vlad & Co. (0:51)
  4. Rejection (1:08)
  5. Hockey/Stu’s Idea/Stu’s Speech (1:37)
  6. News Logo/News of Canada (1:32)
  7. Hacker (1:22)
  8. Commando (1:01)
  9. Wisdom (1:24)
  10. Honey’s Place (0:23)
  11. To Canada (1:04)
  12. Where’s Honey? (1:13)
  13. Power Plant (0:52)
  14. War Room (0:48)
  15. Mountie Letter/To Toronto (1:18)
  16. Omega Force One/Omega Force Two/Conditions of Canada (1:08)
  17. Omega Force Three/Honey Leaves (0:59)
  18. Dies First/Hacking (1:44)
  19. War Room Alarm/O.C.B./War Room Two (1:41)
  20. Toronto/Honey Shoots (1:27)
  21. War Room/Tower (3:15)
  22. Hacker Dies (4:01)
  23. Honey Breaks Through (2:08)
  24. Conclusion & Coda’s (4:42)
  25. Logo (0:08)
  26. Adios (0:14)