Basic Instinct (2XLP Black Vinyl)

Jerry Goldsmith


Out of stock

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: QRLP22 Categories: ,

Ref: QRLP22

Availabilty: SOLD OUT

Categories: Vinyl

Limited edition: 1000 units


NOTE: CDs and LPs ordered at the same time will be shipped separately, with separate shipping charges. See Shipping Page for details

  • Pressed on 180 GM 2-LP Exclusive Audiophile Black Vinyl
  • First official vinyl release of the complete score
  • Produced by Neil S. Bulk and Bruce Botnick
  • Laquer Master Cut by Bernie Grundman
  • Also includes a separate 6-page insert with authoritative in-depth liner notes by Daniel Schweiger

Quartet Records and Studiocanal present a 2-LP set featuring the premiere vinyl release of Jerry Goldsmith’s Academy Award® nominated noir score for Paul Verhoeven’s classic erotic thriller BASIC INSTINCT (1992), starring Michael Douglas and Sharon Stone.

For his second collaboration with director Paul Verhoeven (after TOTAL RECALL) Jerry Goldsmith composed one of his most famous and iconic scores—atmospheric and sensual, elegantly orchestrated, with a memorable main theme reminiscent of Bernard Herrmann.

At the time of the film’s release, Varèse Sarabande issued a 45-minute CD produced by Goldsmith himself—a great presentation of the score’s highlights. This new vinyl release presents the full 70+ minute score, with correct edits and original cue titles presented in film order, and “An Unending Story” as heard in the film. The music was recorded in London with Jerry Goldsmith conducting The National Philharmonic Orchestra.

Produced by Neil S. Bulk and Bruce Botnick, and specially remastered for vinyl from the original digital tapes by Mr. Botnick with lacquers mastered by Bernie Grundman, this premiere LP edition has been pressed in 180 gram black vinyl. Presented in a gatefold jacket, it includes a separate 6-page insert featuring authoritative liner notes from film music writer Daniel Schweiger.




1. Main Title / The First Victim (3:45) 

2. Catherine and Roxy (5:17)

3. Shadows / Profile (1:30) 

4. I Don’t Smoke (2:48)

5. Crossed Legs (4:53)


1. Beth and Nick (2:24)   

2. Night Life (6:04)

3. Home Visit (1:142   

4. Your Wife Knew (1:48)

5. What’s Between You? (0:55)   

6. One Shot (1:28) 

7. Kitchen Help (4:02)   




1. Pillow Talk (5:04)  

2. Morning After (2:32) 

3. Roxy Loses (3:39)   

4. Catherine’s Sorrow (2:44)   

5. Wrong Name (2:24) 

6. She’s Really Sick (1:33)   


1. It Won’t Sell (1:06)

2. The Games Are Over (5:53)   

3. Evidence (1:44)   

4. An Unending Story / End Titles (9:08)